ONE-HUNDRED AND TWENTY- SEVENTH POST FOR BIBLE READING

Peace be unto you in the mighty name of Jesus Christ. Amen!

Today we will read Genesis 23:1-9

Let us start with a prayer:

 

To him who is able to keep us from falling and to present us before his glorious presence without fault and with great joy. To the only God our savior be glory, majesty, power and authority through Jesus Christ, our Lord before all ages now and forevermore. Amen.

 

Let’s continue where we left off!

Open your bible to Genesis 23:1-9

 

1 Sarah lived one hundred and twenty-seven years; these were the years of the life of Sarah. 2 So Sarah died in Kirjath Arba (that is, Hebron) in the land of Canaan, and Abraham came to mourn for Sarah and to weep for her. 3 Then Abraham stood up from before his dead, and spoke to the sons of Heth, saying, 4 “I am a foreigner and a visitor among you. Give me property for a burial place among you, that I may bury my dead out of my sight.” 5 And the sons of Heth answered Abraham, saying to him, 6 “Hear us, my lord: You are a mighty prince among us; bury your dead in the choicest of our burial places. None of us will withhold from you his burial place, that you may bury your dead.” 7 Then Abraham stood up and bowed himself to the people of the land, the sons of Heth. 8 And he spoke with them, saying, “If it is your wish that I bury my dead out of my sight, hear me, and meet with Ephron the son of Zohar for me, 9 that he may give me the cave of Machpelah which he has, which is at the end of his field. Let him give it to me at the full price, as property for a burial place among you.”

 

Verse One: Sarah lived one hundred and twenty-seven years; these were the years of the life of Sarah.

 

Verse Two: Sarah died in Kirjath Arba (known as Hebron) in the land of Canaan, and Abraham came to mourn for Sarah and to weep for her.

 

Verse Three and Four: Then Abraham stood up from before his dead, and spoke to the sons of Heth, saying, “I am a foreigner and a visitor among you. Give me property for a burial place among you, that I may bury my dead out of my sight.”

 

According to Genesis 10:15, Heth was the great grandson of Noah. Heth was the second son of Canaan, who was the son of Ham, who was the son of Noah.

 

Verse Five and Six: And the sons of Heth answered Abraham, saying to him, “Hear us, my lord: You are a mighty prince among us; bury your dead in the choicest of our burial places. None of us will withhold from you his burial place, that you may bury your dead.”

 

Verse Seven: Then Abraham stood up and bowed himself to the people of the land, the sons of Heth.

 

Abraham rendered respect to the sons of Heth, who were descendants of Canaan.

 

In Romans 13:1-2 the bible tells us to pay due respect to all in authority as anyone who rebels against authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and they will be punished. As a prophet of God, Abraham had to know what God’s opinion was on this issue.

 

Verse Eight and Nine: Abraham spoke with them, saying, “If it is your wish that I bury my dead out of my sight, hear me, and meet with Ephron the son of Zohar for me, that he may give me the cave of Machpelah which he has, which is at the end of his field. Let him give it to me at the full price, as property for a burial place among you.”

 

Even though he was told that he could bury his dead in the choicest of their burial places at no cost to him, Abraham insisted on paying the full price of the property he chose to the owner of the property whose name was Ephron the son of Zohar. Ephron lived in Mamre among the children of Heth. The word of God tells us in Romans 13:8 to owe no one anything, except to love each other, for the one who loves another has fulfilled the law. Also in Proverbs 22:7 we read that the rich rules over the poor, and the borrower is the slave of the lender. All of which was not lost on Abraham the prophet of the most high God.

 

Thank you for reading the bible with me.

 

I want you to know, that no matter who you are out there or what your history is, God promises salvation to you and the blood of Jesus Christ, God’s son, cleanses you from all sin. No matter what you have done you will be forgiven and saved as long as you accept Jesus Christ, God’s only Son, that He sent down here from heaven to be a sacrificial lamb for the cleansing of our sins so that our names can be written in the book of life guaranteeing a spot in heaven for us.

 

Jesus Christ is coming soon, sooner than you think! He could come back for his followers at anytime, so we should make ourselves ready. If you have not accepted Jesus Christ as your Lord and savior, pray this with me from your heart: Lord Jesus I’m a sinner, you died on the cross to save me from my sin, you shed your precious blood to wash away every taint, every stain and now I believe in you Jesus. I accept you as my Lord and my savior. Come into my heart, save me with your precious blood. In your Holy name I pray. Amen.

 

I hope you prayed that prayer with me. God willing, I’ll see you tomorrow.