ONE-HUNDRED AND THIRTY – NINTH POST FOR BIBLE READING

Standard

Peace be unto you in the mighty name of Jesus Christ. Amen!

Today we will read Genesis 26:1-11

Let us start with a prayer:

 

Father God Almighty, we thank you for viewing us as righteous through your son Jesus Christ, even though we do not deserve it. Thank you Lord Jesus for your blood, thank you for your name, and thank you for the forgiveness of our sin. Spirit of the living God, please fall afresh on our blog and direct every word that is written on this blog. Bless our blog and everyone who reads it. In the mighty name of Jesus Christ, our Lord and savior we pray. Amen.

 

Let’s continue where we left off!

Open your bible to Genesis 26:1-11

 

Isaac and Abimelech

 

Verse One: There was a famine in the land, besides the first famine that was in the days of Abraham. And Isaac went to Abimelech king of the Philistines, in Gerar.

 

We see here that Isaac also went to Abimelech king of the Philistines in Gerar during famine, as he continuously paralleled his father’s life.

 

Verse Two: Then the Lord appeared to him and said: “Do not go down to Egypt; live in the land of which I shall tell you.

 

Numbers 33:4 states that the Lord executed judgment on the gods of the Egyptians.

 

Could it be that the Lord intentionally steered Isaac away from Egypt because He knew they worshipped other gods?

 

Verse Three: Dwell in this land, and I will be with you and bless you; for to you and your descendants I give all these lands, and I will perform the oath which I swore to Abraham your father.

 

This was the fulfilment of the covenant of prosperity God swore to Abraham, in an oath, that was still outstanding and extended to Isaac and his descendants.

 

Genesis 22:16-18: ‘By Myself I have sworn, says the Lord……’

 

Verses Four and Five: And I will make your descendants multiply as the stars of heaven; I will give to your descendants all these lands; and in your seed all the nations of the earth shall be blessed; because Abraham obeyed My voice and kept My charge, My commandments, My statutes, and My laws.”

 

When Abraham was alive, he was faithful and obedient to God’s commandments. He even went as far as almost sacrificing his only son to God before he was stopped, and his faith in God was confirmed.

 

In Genesis 22:12 because Abraham feared God and had not withheld his only son from Him, God swore to bless him and his descendants beginning with Isaac.

 

These were a few of the many covenants God made with Abraham: Genesis 22:16-18, Genesis 15:6-21, Genesis 17:4-8, Genesis 13:15.

 

Verse Six: So Isaac dwelt in Gerar.

 

Verse Seven: And the men of the place asked about his wife. And he said, “She is my sister”; for he was afraid to say, “She is my wife,” because he thought, “lest the men of the place kill me for Rebekah, because she is beautiful to behold.”

 

As we read on, we continue to notice that the life of father and son correlated, as they both faced similar dilemma with their wives.

 

Verse Eight: Now it came to pass, when he had been there a long time, that Abimelech king of the Philistines looked through a window, and saw, and there was Isaac, showing endearment to Rebekah his wife.

 

This Abimelech could not have been the same Abimelech who had similar encounter with Abraham and Sarah in Genesis 20. Although the bible did not specify, however because of lapse of time, it is safe to assume that this new Abimelech had to be the son or grandson of the old Abimelech.

 

Verse Nine: Then Abimelech called Isaac and said, “Quite obviously she is your wife; so how could you say, ‘She is my sister’?”

 

Isaac said to him, “Because I said, ‘Lest I die on account of her.’”

 

Verse Ten: And Abimelech said, “What is this you have done to us? One of the people might soon have lain with your wife, and you would have brought guilt on us.”

 

In Proverbs 9:10 the bible states that the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom,

and the knowledge of the Holy One is understanding. It is obvious that the fear of the Lord was a continuous trait in the lineage of the Abimelech’s, and that made them very wise indeed.

 

Verse Eleven: So Abimelech charged all his people, saying, “He who touches this man or his wife shall surely be put to death.”

 

Thank you for reading the bible with me.

 

I want you to know, that no matter who you are out there or what your history is, God promises salvation to you and the blood of Jesus Christ, God’s son, cleanses you from all sin. No matter what you have done you will be forgiven and saved as long as you accept Jesus Christ, God’s only Son, that He sent down here from heaven to be a sacrificial lamb for the cleansing of our sins so that our names can be written in the book of life guaranteeing a spot in heaven for us.

 

Jesus Christ is coming soon, sooner than you think! He could come back for his followers at anytime, so we should make ourselves ready. If you have not accepted Jesus Christ as your Lord and savior, pray this with me from your heart: Lord Jesus I’m a sinner, you died on the cross to save me from my sin, you shed your precious blood to wash away every taint, every stain and now I believe in you Jesus. I accept you as my Lord and my savior. Come into my heart, save me with your precious blood. In your Holy name I pray. Amen.

 

I hope you prayed that prayer with me. God willing, I’ll see you tomorrow.

