ONE-HUNDRED AND FORTY-SEVENTH POST FOR BIBLE READING

Peace be unto you in the mighty name of Jesus Christ. Amen!

Today we will read Genesis 28:12-22

Let us start with a prayer:

 

To him who is able to keep us from falling and to present us before his glorious presence without fault and with great joy. To the only God our savior be glory, majesty, power and authority through Jesus Christ, our Lord before all ages now and forevermore. Amen.

 

Let’s continue where we left off!

Open your bible to Genesis 28:12-22

 

Verse Twelve: Then he dreamed, and behold, a ladder was set up on the earth, and its top reached to heaven; and there the angels of God were ascending and descending on it.

 

Isn’t it comforting to find proof in the scriptures that angels of God are among us. Thank you Lord.

 

Verse Thirteen: And behold, the Lord stood above it and said: “I am the Lord God of Abraham your father and the God of Isaac; the land on which you lie I will give to you and your descendants.

 

Our God Almighty is good and He is faithful as we see Him continuously fulfilling the covenant He made with Abraham and his descendants.

 

Verse Fourteen: Also your descendants shall be as the dust of the earth; you shall spread abroad to the west and the east, to the north and the south; and in you and in your seed all the families of the earth shall be blessed.

 

In Genesis 22:18, when God told Abraham to sacrifice Isaac to Him in a burnt offering and he obeyed His commandment, God told him “In your seed, all the nations of the earth shall be blessed, because you have obeyed My voice.”

 

In Genesis 21:12 God also told Abraham that in Isaac his seed would be called. The call of God on Jacob in this verse proved that Jacob was that seed.

 

Verse Fifteen: Behold, I am with you and will keep you wherever you go, and will bring you back to this land; for I will not leave you until I have done what I have spoken to you.”

 

God said to Jacob “behold, I am with you.” We have always known that God was with Jacob, as we have watched him struggle with his brother who did not possess the spirit of God. We have watched their struggles as far back to when they were in their mother’s womb, as light and darkness could not coexist.

 

Verse Sixteen: Then Jacob awoke from his sleep and said, “Surely the Lord is in this place, and I did not know it.”

 

Verse Seventeen: And he was afraid and said, “How awesome is this place! This is none other than the house of God, and this is the gate of heaven!”

 

Verse Eighteen: Then Jacob rose early in the morning, and took the stone that he had put at his head, set it up as a pillar, and poured oil on top of it.

 

It took someone who possessed the spirit of God to have taken the time to honor God this way. Remember that his grandfather Abraham and his father Isaac were faithful followers of God who never missed an opportunity to honor God by building an alter to Him at every dwelling they were led.

 

Verse Nineteen: And he called the name of that place Bethel; but the name of that city had been Luz previously.

 

Verse Twenty and Twenty-One: Then Jacob made a vow, saying, “If God will be with me, and keep me in this way that I am going, and give me bread to eat and clothing to put on, so that I come back to my father’s house in peace, then the Lord shall be my God.

 

By the grace of God, we see Jacob answering the call of God, by giving his life to God and accepting the Lord as his God. He could not have done that if the spirit of God was not in him.

 

Verse Twenty-Two: And this stone which I have set as a pillar shall be God’s house, and of all that You give me I will surely give a tenth to You.”

 

Here we see Jacob honoring Almighty God and proving himself to be the seed of which God had prophesied, by setting up the pillar of God’s house and by pledging a tenth of his income to God.

 

As Christians, we are encouraged to bring a tenth of our income to the house of God as tithes. God told us to try him in this and see if he would not open for us the windows of heaven and pour out for us so much blessings that we would not have enough room to contain them. Malachi 3:10.

 

God does not have any need for our tithes. The tithes we are told to take to the house of God are for the benefit of those in need, and in turn God will bless us for being obedient to Him.

 

Another reason we are asked to bring our tithes to church is so that we can prove our faith to God and so that God can prove His faith to us. God even asks us to try Him and see if we will not run out of room to contain the hugeness of the blessings He would shower us with.

 

May God give us the grace to always trust and honor Him. In the mighty name of Jesus Christ we pray. Amen.

 

Thank you for reading the bible with me.

 

I want you to know, that no matter who you are out there or what your history is, God promises salvation to you and the blood of Jesus Christ, God’s son, cleanses you from all sin. No matter what you have done you will be forgiven and saved as long as you accept Jesus Christ, God’s only Son, that He sent down here from heaven to be a sacrificial lamb for the cleansing of our sins so that our names can be written in the book of life guaranteeing a spot in heaven for us.

 

Jesus Christ is coming soon, sooner than you think! He could come back for his followers at anytime, so we should make ourselves ready. If you have not accepted Jesus Christ as your Lord and savior, pray this with me from your heart: Lord Jesus I’m a sinner, you died on the cross to save me from my sin, you shed your precious blood to wash away every taint, every stain and now I believe in you Jesus. I accept you as my Lord and my savior. Come into my heart, save me with your precious blood. In your Holy name I pray. Amen.

 

I hope you prayed that prayer with me. God willing, I’ll see you on Monday.