ONE-HUNDRED AND FIFTY – FIRST POST FOR BIBLE READING

Peace be unto you in the mighty name of Jesus Christ. Amen!

Today we will read Genesis 30:1-10

Let us start with a prayer:

 

To him who is able to keep us from falling and to present us before his glorious presence without fault and with great joy. To the only God our savior be glory, majesty, power and authority through Jesus Christ, our Lord before all ages now and forevermore. Amen.

 

Let’s continue where we left off!

Open your bible to Genesis 30:1-10

 

Verse One: Now when Rachel saw that she bore Jacob no children, Rachel envied her sister, and said to Jacob, “Give me children, or else I die!”

 

It could not have been easy for Rachel as she watched her sister give birth to child after child while she remained barren. Adding to that, it is not surprising that the devil did not miss the opportunity to influenced her mind with spirits of envy and hopelessness.

 

Verse Two: And Jacob’s anger was aroused against Rachel, and he said, “Am I in the place of God, who has withheld from you the fruit of the womb?”

 

God’s delay does not mean God’s denial. When we pray to God and He does not answer our prayers immediately, that does not mean that our prayers will never be answered. God may be delaying that blessing in order to strengthen our faith in him or in order to bring us to a higher spiritual level in our lives.

 

Verse Three: So she said, “Here is my maid Bilhah; go in to her, and she will bear a child on my knees, that I also may have children by her.”

 

May God give us the grace to always let His mercy and favor speak for us. When we give up on God and result to taking matters into our own hands, we force God to withdraw his strength and leave us to our own power. Proverbs 3:5-6

 

Verse Four: Then she gave him Bilhah her maid as wife, and Jacob went in to her.

 

Jacob as the head of his household should have stood firm in his faith in God and tell Rachel that as for him and his house they would wait on the Lord. Instead he allowed the devil to use that opportunity to tempt him to do the will of Rachel instead of the will of God Almighty.

 

May God give us the grace to always walk in the Spirit. For when we are led by the Spirit of God, we are kept from fulfilling the lust of the flesh. Galatians 5:16-18

 

Verse Five: And Bilhah conceived and bore Jacob a son.

 

Verse Six: Then Rachel said, “God has judged my case; and He has also heard my voice and given me a son.” Therefore she called his name Dan.

 

Rachel’s impatience has caused her to loose her opportunity for growth that could have strengthened her faith in God and propelled her to a new level in her life. She left herself open to spirits of envy, impatience and hopelessness whose objectives were to destroy humanity and in this case, delay Rachel’s spiritual growth. 2 Peter 1:5-7

 

Verse Seven: And Rachel’s maid Bilhah conceived again and bore Jacob a second son.

 

Verse Eight: Then Rachel said, “With great wrestlings I have wrestled with my sister, and indeed I have prevailed.” So she called his name Naphtali.

 

Verse Nine: When Leah saw that she had stopped bearing, she took Zilpah her maid and gave her to Jacob as wife.

 

Jacob’s failure to lead his household in the way of total submission to God’s will has now opened up a window of opportunity for satan to come in and influence his family.

 

If we are not doing the will of God we are doing the will of the devil. We can either let our choices reflect the fruits of the Spirit that derive from God or works of the flesh that derive from satan. Galatians 5:19-26.

 

Verse Ten: And Leah’s maid Zilpah bore Jacob a son.

 

Rachel and Leah were both too occupied in satisfying their own will and were not concerned about letting the will of God be done. They took the risk of robbing those children, conceived by human manipulations, of the blessing and Spirit of God.

 

In Genesis 5:2, and 2:7 when God created Adam and Eve He blessed and put His Spirit in them. Later in Genesis 12:2-3 we saw as God put his spirit in Abraham, and later in Isaac and Jacob thereby sealing them as his own.

 

We thank God that through the atonement of the blood of our Lord and savior Jesus Christ, we too can share in the promises God made to Abraham and his seeds. Galatians:3:29

 

Thank you for reading the bible with me.

 

I want you to know, that no matter who you are out there or what your history is, God promises salvation to you and the blood of Jesus Christ, God’s son, cleanses you from all sin. No matter what you have done you will be forgiven and saved as long as you accept Jesus Christ, God’s only Son, that He sent down here from heaven to be a sacrificial lamb for the cleansing of our sins so that our names can be written in the book of life guaranteeing a spot in heaven for us.

 

Jesus Christ is coming soon, sooner than you think! He could come back for his followers at anytime, so we should make ourselves ready. If you have not accepted Jesus Christ as your Lord and savior, pray this with me from your heart: Lord Jesus I’m a sinner, you died on the cross to save me from my sin, you shed your precious blood to wash away every taint, every stain and now I believe in you Jesus. I accept you as my Lord and my savior. Come into my heart, save me with your precious blood. In your Holy name I pray. Amen.

 

I hope you prayed that prayer with me. God willing, I’ll see you tomorrow.